Some Democrats Wary of Impeachment Vote – December 13, 2019

Peterson leaning, Van Drew certain to vote against impeachment


“Blue Dog” Democrats Collin Peterson and Jeff Van Drew voted in October against the House impeachment inquiry of President Trump — the only Democrats to do so — and they may vote against the impeachment articles next week. As Agriculture Committee chair, Peterson would be the most prominent House Democrat to oppose impeachment.


China may agree to buy U.S. ag exports, but a final tranche of cash to farmers is still likely

On the same day that China and the United States tentatively reached a “phase one” agreement on a trade deal, Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue said that he expects producers will still receive the final $3.6 billion in trade war payments President Trump authorized last spring.


New bill to address source of foodborne illness (DeLauro): Rep. Rosa DeLauro of Connecticut introduced a bill that would grant the FDA authority to investigate feedlots and CAFOs implicated in outbreaks of foodborne illness.


No egg conspiracy, says jury (Law360): A jury found that United Egg did not engage in an anti-competitive scheme to hike egg prices, as alleged by a dozen major grocery chains.


Corn sale to Mexico among largest ever (USDA): In the fifth-largest corn sale on record, exporters sold 1.6 million tonnes of U.S. corn, worth $231 million, for delivery to Mexico.


New FDA chief confirmed (Senate): The Senate confirmed, by a vote of 72-18, the nomination of cancer specialist Stephen Hahn to be commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration.


Sales of antibiotics for livestock rise (FDA): Drug companies reported sales of 11.6 million pounds of antibiotics approved for use in food-producing animals in 2018, up 6 percent from 2017. Sales of so-called “medically important” antibiotics — half of total sales — rose 9 percent.


Yoho honors term-limit vow (Florida Politics): House Agriculture panelist Ted Yoho, a Florida Republican who ran for Congress with a promise that he would limit himself to four terms, announced he is keeping his word and retiring in 2020.

Bookmark the permalink.